Review: Healing Touch

HealingTouchHealing Touch by Jayne Rylon

5 out of 5 Licks

Play Doctor, Book 2 (Sequel to Dream Machine)

Luke Malone is thrilled for his best friend Kurt and his new wife Becca.  Their sexual psychiatry practice is booming now that the Dream Machine has been approved for use in the treatment of sexual repression.  The couple has included him in their life, and their bed, but he knows he’s not meant to be part of their relationship forever.

When Brielle Norris comes to his practice seeking help, Luke is forced to turn her away.  He’s too attracted to her to stay impartial.  Instead, he refers the woman to Becca and offers to take on a more personal support role.  As Brielle learns to overcome the scars of an abusive relationship, Luke is there to support her every step of the way, even when the treatment she needs to heal is unconventional.

Together, the two couples unravel the tangled lies she has been led to believe and show her that not all relationships end in disaster.  At least this one won’t, if they can keep her safe from her psycho ex-husband while teaching her to embrace the darker facets of her sexuality.

Luke *sigh* poor, sweet, unhappy with life Luke.  Watching his two friends happy and sometimes in the bedroom used to be enough, but now he wants more.  He wants a love like theirs.  I fell in love with Luke when he first appeared in Dream Machine.  I knew he would be one of those deep souls who would eventually realize he wanted more.  I can relate to Brielle because I am also claustrophobic.  As a matter of fact I came close to having a panic attack on an elevator that Jayne Rylon was riding on at RT 2011 (I still refer to those things as the elevators of death *shudder and not in a good way*).  Ms. Rylon had me crying before I could even finish the second chapter.  She captures the fear aspect very well.  There were times when I felt as though I was stuck with Brielle and was close to panicking myself.  There is no other word to describe how Luke cared for Brielle from the beginning other than love.  They may have not realized it yet but they were in love the moment they first saw each other and I absolutely loved watching them discover it.  Kurt and Becca play a pretty big role in this book too and I was thrilled to see them continuing with their happy ever after.

I have come to expect nothing less than crazy, hot sex from Ms. Rylon’s books and she certainly delivers.  Theres this one scene with Luke, Brielle, Kurt, and Becca where…well I’ll let you read it to see how that played out!  Let me tell you though it was sooooo good!  😉  The end of the book is exactly the kind of ending I adore.  Brielle is definitely able to replace some of those bad memories with good ones for her future claustrophobic episodes.  And Ms. Rylon could leave the series at that BUT according to her website she has more in this series coming!!  I can’t wait to see what happens next!  I know a lot of people waited a long time for this book and it is so worth the wait.  As always Ms. Rylon never disappoints.

Buy it now from Amazon | B&N | Samhain | Kobo | ARe

KittyKelly     

Categories: Uncategorized

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Review: Healing Touch

  1. Tina B

    Fabulous review! I am not a claustrophobic, so I cannot relate, but I love when an author’s writing can make me feel the character’s emotions. This book sounds wonderful and I’ll be adding it to my TBR pile. 🙂
    Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

  2. jessiel62

    Loved the review & I’m looking forward to reading it. Thank you!

Blog at WordPress.com.

