Guest Author Crystal Jordan and Contest

Today the awesomely amazing Crystal Jordan is here talking about some story inspiration and her latest release Vegas Vacation.  This was such a fun read!  Look for my review coming in the next few days.  For now enjoy Crystal and check out the contest at the end of the post!  🙂

VegasVacationWhere I Go, My Stories Follow
In the last few years, I’ve traveled quite a bit with my boyfriend. Sometimes it was for business and sometimes for pleasure, but there’s been a lot of air miles logged in. We’ve had a blast and I kept thinking that I should write about all the places we’ve been, but nothing really gelled for me as a story idea. We went to Hawaii twice, Las Vegas twice, and have been doing research on taking a glacier cruise in Alaska. We’re also booked on a trip to Europe this summer. Fun times!


Okay, so some of it wasn’t that fun. I pinched a nerve in my back on one of the airplane rides, my boyfriend and I both caught the worst flu of all time on the second trip to Honolulu, and we ended up hiking quite a bit longer in the baking Las Vegas sun than we’d anticipated trying to find a museum. Oh, the sunburn. But you know what? Even with the disasters, we still had a great time. And it made me think even more that overcoming travel hiccups can tell you a lot about your partner. How do they deal with crises? How supportive are they when you’re sicker than a dog and neither of you has any idea where a pharmacy is? Would you be willing to go anywhere with them again, ever?


Fortunately for my boyfriend, he passed those tests. And, in the end, I did finally get a book idea from that last trip to Hawaii. That book idea rolled into a series idea (doesn’t it always?), which spanned from Las Vegas to Hawaii to Europe to Alaska. Yep, all the places I’ve been or will be going to before the series is over. It’s pretty awesome how that worked out, because it means I did hands-on research without really thinking too hard–it was all just part of my travel.


I think it’s pretty well known that a little bit of the author goes into every character, but this series is even more special because, in a way, it kind of chronicles (or at least pays homage) to my relationship with my boyfriend. Wherever we went, I’m sort of taking my readers along. Though I think I’m going to skip the part with the flu from hell. Even I’m not mean enough to do that to my characters!

Blurb:

It’s spring break, and a group of teachers from Half Moon Bay Middle School are planning to cut loose. History teacher Meg Phillips hadn’t planned on being one of them—Vegas isn’t really a town for a bookworm—but somehow she let her friend Anne talk her into it.

Though honestly, she’d rather indulge in some poolside reading than co-star in an R-rated edition of Teachers Gone Wild.

It took some major arm twisting for Finn Walsh to convince his fellow gym teacher, Anne, to do whatever it took to get Meg to Vegas. For over a year he’s been looking for the chance to get to know her outside of work. He’s drawn to her quiet beauty and intelligence—and the hint of fire beneath her understated exterior.

When he finally gets the opportunity to peel away those layers, the result is far more explosive than he ever fantasized. Now to convince her that the week isn’t a wildly out-of-character mistake, but the start of something amazing…

Buy it from Amazon | B&N | Samhain

CONTEST:

Tell us your favorite vacation memory and you will be entered to win an ecopy of both books from the Revved Up series: All Revved Up and All Tangled Up.  Winners will be picked Monday April 22. 

You can find out more about Crystal at her website, on Facebook, or on Twitter.

 

 

 

Categories: Uncategorized

Post navigation

22 thoughts on “Guest Author Crystal Jordan and Contest

  1. Meghan Stith

    Probably when I went to Europe and stayed with people I met on Couchsurfing.org.
    Thanks for the giveaway!

    mestith at gmail dot com

  2. DebraG

    We traveled to North Carolina and stayed on one of the barrier islands. My kids enjoyed themselves and they were the perfect age. It was one of the last we took together.

  3. Lori meehan

    Any where a cruise ship takes me. I’ve been on several cruises and even if I didn’t like the location I visited. I had a fabulous trip.
    Thank you for the giveaway. Crystal Jordan is a wonderful author. I highly recommend her books.

    • The prof and I are considering a couple of cruises. Alaska is mostly likely, but we’d also like to take one of those cruises to Antarctica.

  4. A friend and I wanted to visit TN but our families didn’t want to go so me and her took off last summer and went for a week. No kids…no hubbies. It was awesome. We went to Dollywood, Gatlingburg (to met a friend that we had made online and drank moonshine). Went to Loretta Lynns place saw her REAL house and got lost on her property trying not to get busted(LOL), Then went to Memphis to Graceland, signed the wall. Then on our way back stopped off in Nashville to see some friends of ours in a band play and got to see the Rhyman (real Grand Ole Opery) and the one they use today. The hubbies were made that we took off like that but we had a blast and we wouldnt trade it for the world!!!

    • I used to live in TN, so I’ve been to all those places. Well, except Loretta Lynn’s. I loved Gatlinburg. It’s pretty there!

  5. My favorite vacation memories are from my childhood,when every summer we would go from Arizona to Missouri to visit my Grandmother and visit family we only saw once a year,I’m hoping to move to a small town in Missouri and make it my permanent vacation spot ~~ that is my dream –Thanks for the contest and the giveaway

    • The only place in Missouri I’ve ever been to is St. Louis for a conference. I’ve heard the Ozarks are lovely, though!

  6. LorettaLynn

    The 1st time I went camping with my dad and had smores and cooked on a open fire 🙂

  7. Phuong

    My most memorable vacation would probably be going back home to Asia to meet my family for the first time 8 years ago and what a culture shock it was! I loved spending time with my aunts, cousins but especially my mom’s BFF….she told stories that had me laughing so hard I had tears in my eyes especially the ones about our relationship when I was little. I have a feeling RT13 might end up being a memorable one too 😀

  8. mathlady68

    I have had some pretty good vacations over the years so one memory is tough. We saved for years to go on our honeymoon to Switzerland. I got sick on the way over and felt lousy for the first week but I will never forget visiting the Jungfraujoch – “Top Of Europe” – and seeing people skiing by jumping out of helicopters and then skiing all the way down the mountain! It was so cool!

    • OMG, that would be amazing to see! I could never do it because I’m a chicken, but that’s really cool!

  9. lisagk

    A nice vacation memory for me is last Thanksgiving when our son put us up in an extremely nice hotel room near his apartment in Cocoa Beach, FL. Club hopping with our adult son and his friends was a blast. I didn’t do the club crawl as a young adult so this was a novelty for me. Thanks for the post. lisagk(at)yahoo(dot)com

  10. Ava Curtis

    My best vacation is spending time with my grandchildren

  11. flchen1

    One fun memory was from a trip we took to Thailand when our oldest (and at the time, only) child was around 2. He had his first taste of fresh coconut juice, and couldn’t get enough. We have photos of him sucking the coconut dry, and then heading for his grandmother with the big puppy-dog eyes 🙂

  12. Every summer we went to Yosemite. We would rent a wooden cabin right before school started up again, and we would make our own food and just hike all day. I loved it. I was also way brave…or maybe stupid and climbed all kinds of crazy boulders. 🙂

  13. Patsy

    My best vacation was when I went to Alamogordo NM a few years back, it was a long trip, I stayed a few weeks and got to read my favorite books.

    • Patsy you are. The winner!!! You can thank my kitty she picked the number this time. 😉 please email me at kittykelly28 @ hotmail.com (no spaces) and ill get your info to Crystal so she can send you your books. 🙂 Thanks everyone for entering.

      KittyKelly

Blog at WordPress.com.

