CONTEST: Wish You Were Going To RT?

Do you wish you were going to RT this year?  Wish you could get all the cool swag and books that are being given away?

Well I can’t help you get to RT but I can help you win stuff from RT!!  🙂  I will be gathering all the swag and extra books I can fit in my car (a giant SUV!) to bring home for you!  That’s right I’m bringing RT home for you!  Check in each day and answer my question of the day in the comments below.  That’s it.  I’ll pick at least 1 winner for each day (perhaps more depending on how generous I’m feeling).  I’ll announce all the winners when I get home and have a chance to unpack and catch up a bit. 

Eden Bradley and I drove to RT this year.  We spent about 9 hours in the car.  Most of our time was spent on Hwy 69 which we both found highly amusing, but that could have been caused by deliriousness after having been in the car for so long and so tired from a very busy weekend.  So for today’s question I’d like to know…What is the longest car trip you’ve taken?

Remember to come back each day to post your comment.  The more you comment the better your chances are of winning! 

KittyKelly

Categories: Uncategorized

Post navigation

35 thoughts on “CONTEST: Wish You Were Going To RT?

  1. SheriV

    Wisconsin to Nevada, while 24 weeks pregnant. My crazy friend did it in 30 hours, with my dog too. Then on the way home it was just my dog and I and three days. 🙂

  2. chrisbails

    I wish I was, but not able to go. I want to go to one of the book conferences. Maybe next year. I really want to go to RT next year. Gonna use my tax money. Would love to win this cool prize. Thanks for the chance to win.

  3. Jessica

    My longest trip was a flight to Scotland. I did a year abroad and left from New Mexico to Dulles then to Heathrow (where I my flight was delayed 3 times and I was about to start crying if they dared pulled a 4th because I was tired and traveling already a little over 24 hours) then to Glasgow.

    Car ride-I’d say a little over 1,000 miles from Texas to Missouri many years ago during a family trip.

    Have fun at RT! Hahaha on the Highway of 69, maybe on your way back you can take a picture next to the sign?

  4. Tennessee to Orlando Florida. About 5 years ago My husband and I drove down to Florida spent a day at Universal and than the next at Sea World if I had a bucket list that would have been at the top of it. And the best part of it all… We left the kids at home… Ok we didn’t really leave them at home they had their own summer plans so we didn’t feel the least bit guilty 😉 I guess it is about a 12 hour trip we did it in two days, so it wasn’t as long a straight through trip. I don’t remember the miles.

    Have Fun at RT I was so depressed that going fell through danged life… it is forever getting in the way 😉

  5. I think it would be awesome to go to R.T., to not only meet some of your favorite authors but new ones as well,not to mention all the free goodies you can get ! For a reader or someone who wants to write,it would be like a trip to Disneyland !! Thank you for an awesome giveaway and the opportunity

  6. Eva P.

    My longest car trip was when I was maybe 6 or 7, we drove from Juarez, Mexico (just across the border from El Paso, TX) all the way to the Mexico City, I can somewhat remember the trip, it took about 2 days.Longest flight was in 2007 when m BFF and I went to London, it was about an 8-9 hours flight, we flew at night, so I slept a lot, didn’t feel very long 🙂

  7. DebraG

    We drove from Connecticut to Mount Rushmore. My was that a trip.
    debby236 at gmail dot com

  8. jessie1220

    The longest raod trip I’ve ever been on was 18 hours. It was a family vacation and I was a teenager (I was sooooo sick of that van lol).

  9. Lori meehan

    Toledo, Ohio to Fort Lauderdale, Florida. I told my husband not again we ill fly next time!
    Have fun at RT.

  10. Tina B

    Have a wonderful time!
    I am from Pennsylvania and now live in Fl. We have made the road trip several times. I am not a fan of it, but I dislike flying also.
    It takes anywhere from 19-23 hours with the way the men in my family drive. They don’t really let me drive when we are on a road trip. I guess going no more than 10 miles over the speed limit isn’t enough for them. Lol.
    I am going to try to go to AAD this year since it’s only 1 state away.

  11. mamaboo7907

    Have fun at RT!!

    I am originally from Mid Michigan and I have lived in South Carolina for 22 years. I’m used to long car rides. Longest trip was from SC to Texas to see my Aunt Katie, then from Texas to Mid Michigan to my Gram’s house.

  12. The longest road trip I ever took was from Houston to Cape Canaveral Florida. It was in a mini van with my mother & father (who were divorced) My husband and my 2 year old son. So even though it was a long trip it seemed even longer because of those who went with me !

  13. Joanne B

    My longest trip was driving from New Jersey to Iowa. Longest trip ever. Ugh!

  14. From Oklahoma to North Carolina. It was long and not fun, although the scenery was very pretty. Thanks for the awesome giveaway and have a great time at RT!

  15. jdh2690

    The longest car trip I’ve ever taken was from Blythe, California (southern desert area) to Fort Belvoir, Virginia, in 1967 to be with my husband who was attending Officer Candidate School there. I traveled through the Southern states and it was quite an experience. I ate grits for the first time (bleh) and almost had an accident when a pigeon flew into my windshield. Took me five days to get there as I was driving alone and needed to stop each night for sleep. Oh…and I got some chigger bites from a motel somewhere in the South too! 🙂 I was sure glad when that trip was over! jdh2690@gmail.com

  16. janeholl2013

    from Ontario to Nova Scotia. hella long journey and we had to stop at a hotel overnight. It was a great trip!

  17. lisagk

    From Texas to Virginia. lisagk(at)yahoo(dot)com

  18. I once drove from oregon with my grandparents to michigan. it was three days of endless driving… it sucked. although, we did stop at night to sleep. but it wasnt fun. did i mention i get car sick? ugh! the three days felt like a lifetime! Thanks for sharing and for the awesome giveaway! Have fun at RT for me too! 🙂
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

  19. My longest driving trip was actually on a bus, going to Disney World with my High School band. We drove for 19 hours straight, only stopping once to change out drivers and get food. That trip was a blast but the riding on the bus was awful!

    Thanks for the giveaway! I’m so jealous of everyone at RT right now but I will be there next year! 🙂

  20. Teresa Kleeman

    The longest car trip for me was a trip to Indiana to CT. It took me 22 hours to come back with my dog. Weather sucked and I had a convertable two seater stuffed full with as much junk me and the German Shepherd could carry. I was actually seeing the black dog in the road at the end. Not good.

    Teresa K.
    tcwgrlup41(at)yahoodotcom

  21. carol L

    Wish I was there. Hoping I’ll get to RT next year.
    Longest car trip for me was a few years back when my daughter and I drove (she drove, I don’t) from New Jersey to Texas to see my son graduate from Boot Camp. There was so much construction on the highways as we went from state to state and we seemed to be on the road forever. Tennessee has to be the longest state I’ve ever been through. My poor daughter’s hands were almost numb from all the driving she had to do. 🙂
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

  22. Meghan Stith

    I drove from Upstate New York down the East Coast to Georgia then across the bottom of the US all the way to Los Angeles and back. On the way back, we went a little more south to Florida and then I stopped by Pittsburgh and Indiana.
    Thanks for the giveaway!
    mestith at gmail dot com

  23. So Jealous! Wish I could be there especially being so close to home. May next time 🙂

    The farthest I have take a road trip to was Phoenix, AZ from St. Louis, MO. That was a long drive. But I loved every minute of it. We will be leaving in a few days to go from St. Louis to San Antonio for my oldest son’s graduation from Basic Training. It will be a long 13 hours, but so worth it. The younger boys are super excited.

    Have fun!
    Mel
    bournmelissa at hotmail dot com

  24. Susan R

    For spring break one year I visited friends – drove from NY to Indiana, then down to Nashville and then home – all by myself! That straight through from Nashville to NY was the hardest – it took me 20 hours!

  25. We drove from Wilmington to Detroit many times. We would do it straight through even when the kids were really little.

  26. flchen1

    I think our longest was only up the West coast to Washington (maybe 16 hours?–my aunt and uncle used to do it in a straight shot, but our family stopped overnight in the middle). I keep thinking I’d like to do a road trip with the family, but DH is vehemently opposed 🙂

  27. I haven’t been able to go on car trips due to tendency to develop DVTs (blood clots). So the longest car trip for me would just be a few hours. Even that would be too hard now due to now having back & hip problems too 😦

  28. cyclops8

    My friend pick up his new car in Minnesota and we drove from there to Michigan. It took forever, but at least the scenery was pretty.

  29. Beverly

    you have no idea how bad I wanted to go to RT maybe next year! I think I will be saven up to go and honestly I think the longest trip I have ever taken was to ky and ohio what makes that funny is what should of been a couple hour drive turne din to over 12 because we took the scenic route then had to stop at arrest stop to well rest nota smart idea when your women on the road but hey live and learn thank you for the chance maybe ill win

  30. jennifer mathis

    longest trip was from home to san antonio for the sassy sleepover this year a 12 hour trip .

  31. Lisa G

    Longest road trip was from Fort Collins, CO to Miami, FL with an ex boyfriend back in 1993. We both went to the same university (CSU) & he was transferring to UM. I lived in Miami (still do) so we made the trip together.

  32. vampedchik

    To North Carolina from Illinois. I went with my friend who was checking out houses down there and she had her to boys with her. a 4 year old and a 1 year old. It was the roadtrip from HELL!!! I love those boys to death but trying to keep them entertained that long was horrible.
    -Amber

    • Vampedchick you win!!! Send me an email with your mailing address and ill get your stuff to you ASAP!! 🙂 kittykelly28 @ hotmail.com

  33. Brandi S.

    The longest car trip I have ever taken was from Michigan all the way to Georgia. I had to make the trip a few times when I was younger because my mother had moved there. It was awful for numerous reasons, the biggest reason for the first time was that my paranoid freak-of-a-aunt came with my mom and she rented the smallest car she could find and stuffed all of us in there (my mom, my aunt, me, my baby brother, and my younger sister) and then it was such a long drive!! My aunt wouldn’t let us listen to music because it might distract my mom from driving! I am claustrophobic and I was sitting behind my aunt and she kept putting her seat further back and I had to have my mom pull over a few times so I could get out of the car because I was having a panic attack……to say the least, I do not like to take road trips lol

  34. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I’ve truly enjoyed browsing your blog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing to
    your rss feed and I hope you write again soon!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

