Desiree Holt Buck Naked Blog Tour

tour image

Okay first I have to tell you that the opening scene in Buck Naked is based on something that actually happened to people I know. (No, I can’t say who! LOL!) I set things at a ranch because I lie in the Texas Hill country where there are more ranches than stores and I love my cowboys. Matt Stark is based on a person whose character I loved. Once I had Matt and the opening scene, I built his character and fleshed it out with pieces of people I’ve met and know. Reenie, my heroine, is the result of the what if game? What if she’s reconnected with her college roommate after several years and the roommates brother, who she’s always had a big crush on. How does she react at the opening events? How does he when he discovers what happened? Who will make the first move after that and why?

I use a lot of real life experience and build my characters from that. In Erected, the situation with her car being towed actually happened. To me! So I thought about how I’d feel, how I’d react, what I would do. And how I would treat my so-called rescuer.

Then I flesh out the characters. What do they like to eat? Drink? What kind of movies do they like? What do they enjoy reading? Is there any similarity between the two of them? Commonality? What kind of work do they do and why? What do they like in a relationship? What turns them on emotionally? Sexually? What rubs each of them the wrong way and what sets off that big spark?

They always have a secret they are guarding, whether it’s personal or professional, and I have to make sure I’ve set the stage emotionally for the big reveal. They want some assurance the other person won’t just bolt. Of course, sometimes they do, but then I have a logical way to get them back together.

I collect people, so to speak, and use bits and pieces of them to construct my characters.

For example. I lived in a very small Texas town. Our scrumptious bakery has tables inside and out for people to enjoy designer coffee and the best pastries you’ll ever taste. I was sitting at an outside table one day, paying no attentio0n to anything, as usual, swinging my foot, when I connected with someone’s shin.  Talk about embarrassed. But when I looked up there was a rugged cowboy (I’m surrounded by them) in a sheepskin-lined ranch jacket, a Stetson, jeans and cowboys boots. He actually looked like a younger edition of the Marlboro Man. And when he spoke, his voice was like molasses flowing over gravel. I was a goner. He became the model for Cody Alvarez in he Came Upon a Midnight Clear. My hero in Once Upon a Wedding is actually based on a guy I dated in college.

So you see, I call on everything to infuse life into my characters and make them believable. I want my readers to fall in love with them, so much so that they hate it when the story ends and want more. Which of course is why I write so many series!

Click HERE to enter the giveaway!!

Categories: Uncategorized

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “Desiree Holt Buck Naked Blog Tour

  1. Would love to read this book

  2. Lori Meehan

    The book sounds really good. I love cowboys!

  3. Julianne

    Wow, Desiree it sounds like you have all the luck with meeting handsome men, even if you do have to kick them in the shin first. I bet all your friends have some interesting little story they could tell you that you could turn into a book.
    Rock On, Desiree!!

  4. June M.

    I may have to try meeting sexy guys by “accidentally” kicking them or stumbling into them, lol. I wonder if anyone who knows you ever said, “Hey…is this me/based on me?” when they read your stories 😉 Congrats on the new release Desiree!
    June
    manning_J2004 at yahoo dot com

  5. lisagk

    Thanks for the post. I loved the opening scene from “Buck” it really grabbed my attention. I also enjoyed your description of collecting people… thanks for the contest. lisagk(at)yahoo

  6. Great way to choose characters. I love the Marlboro Man, he was gorgeous and a younger version would even be better.
    Congrats on the new release. Got my copy of Buck Naked in my TBR pile, can’t wait to read it. Thanks for the giveaway.
    christinebails at yahoo dot com

  7. I can’t wait to read this book! I loved the first book. I laughed so hard I cried. I can’t wait to read more from this series.
    Rhonda D slinkydennis @ yahoo.com

  8. I love hearing about what inspires you.I wish I lived surrounded by hot cowboys.

  9. jennifer mathis

    great review !!!

  10. janeholl2013

    I love that a lot of the characters and situations are based on real people and events. I live in hope that something mind blowingly sexy will happen to me one day!!

  11. laura

    Love the excerpt and cover. Cant wait to read the book.

Blog at WordPress.com.

