Review: Still

StillBig600Still by Ann Mayburn

5 out of 5 Licks

Long Slow Tease, Book 1

Dr. Michelle Sapphire and Gunnery Sergeant Wyatt Callahan formed an unbreakable bond and an unacknowledged, forbidden attraction to each other while serving together in Afghanistan. Their lives are forever changed when a mortar attack grievously wounds Wyatt and Michelle brings him back from the brink of death. But when they both return to the civilian world, Michelle discovers that her rock-solid Marine is suffering from severe PTSD and may even be suicidal.

Wyatt Callahan fell hard for the aristocratic blonde doctor the moment he laid eyes on her. After reentering civilian life in his hometown near Austin, Texas, Wyatt is plagued by nightmares of the death and suffering he witnessed during the war. He’d love to reach out to Michelle, but — Michelle is a Dominatrix, and she has made it very clear to Wyatt she isn’t interested in a relationship with anyone who doesn’t accept her lifestyle. An Alpha male to the core, he can’t imagine the appeal of being submissive. At the same time, the idea of serving Michelle, of being everything she wants and needs, rings true in his wounded soul.

Michelle has dark secrets of her own, and together with Wyatt she will have to battle her personal demons during their emotional journey of healing, redemption, and love.

I really just want to say…Just go buy this book and read it right now!!!  But for my kittens I will say more.  This is not the first time I have read a book with a FemDom, but it is one of the best I’ve read-period!  You are all aware by now that it doesn’t take much to cry but I was literally crying while reading the dedication!  The dedication people!  I grew up outside of a military base and I have insane amounts of respect for everyone who chooses to serve our country that way.  For me it is simple-you offer up your life for my freedom=my forever gratitude and respect.  The story between Michelle and Wyatt is so incredibly emotional that I was mentally all in by the first page.  Ann does an amazing job making you feel pain and emotional damage each of the characters suffer from.  Once I started reading I couldn’t stop.  I so desperately yearned for the two of them to be happy.  And seeing the two of them start to grow and deepen their connection was so heart warming.  There is no immediate fix for either Michelle or Wyatt.  Their story is communicated in a very true to life manner.  Life isn’t pretty and things don’t fix themselves in 24 hours with some good (sometimes amazing) sex and pillow talk.  In fact they only have sex once in this book-but trust me the build up is soooooo worth it.

I have one minor tiff (I can’t even call it a complaint) with this book…the story isn’t finished yet!!!!  The end of book one is really only the beginning.  I finished and immediately wanted more!!  You will all hate me for this but I know the rest of the story already.  I was lucky enough to be able to room with Ann at RT this year and basically threatened to hurt her while she slept if I didn’t get the rest of their story.  Even knowing what’s coming isn’t enough.  I can’t wait for the next book to be released so I can read more of the connection between these two.  Michelle and Wyatt will forever hold a place in my heart.  You can’t read this book without becoming emotionally attached to them.  The BDSM elements were relatively light (compared to some I’ve read).  There is mild knife play, but I assure you there is no cutting (that isn’t how knife play tends to work).  It’s just crazy sexy hottness!!!  Ok enough of my gushing over this book.  Click one of these links below and buy it!!  You won’t regret it and you will need to be prepared to stay up all night if you must to finish it! 

Buy it from Amazon | B&N | ARe | Kobo | Smashwords

KittyKelly

    

Categories: Uncategorized

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Review: Still

  1. Lori meehan

    Isn’t this just a hot cover. *fans self*

  2. Thank you so much for the great review! I’m starting work on Penance today so this is fantastic motivation. Good reviews are like crack to authors, we’ll bust our ass to make you happy as long as you let us know you enjoyed it. 😀

  3. Maria D.

    I really like the sound of this book with the woman being the dominatrix even though it’s clear the man is not a weakling…I like the power exchange. Thanks for sharing the review

  4. Pingback: Guest Author: Ann Mayburn | The Smutty Kitty

Blog at WordPress.com.

