RT Contest: Going Home :(

RT is always full of insane highs and low lows.  Getting to see all my friends is so awesome, but saying goodbye at the end of the week is always hard.  This year it was a bit easier since Eden rode with me.  It meant I was able to hang on to one more person a little longer and that helped a lot.  We drove 9 hours back to Dallas Sunday afternoon.  By the time we made it there we were exhausted and beyond ready to get out of the car.  We talked with R.G. for a bit and then crashed.  We did have some interesting things happen on the way home because well it was us after all.  lol

We stopped and got some food on the way out of Kansas City.  There must have been a steam pocket in one of the fries I ate because I immediately burnt the roof of my mouth.  I’m talking instant blister and then it popped right away and skin came out.  It was pretty gross.  About 5 or 6 hours into the ride (we were somewhere in Oklahoma) I really needed to get something to put on my mouth to numb the pain.  After about an hour of looking, of course there was no Wal-Mart in sight.  Eden needed a break from the car and yelled to the universe “Please Wal-Mart where are you?!” And as if by magic…bam Walmart.  So we went in and stretched a bit and found me some mouth numbing meds.  While there we also found this.

2013-05-06 10.03.38Who the hell designed this?  It’s hard to tell but it’s making an “O” face-probably cause he’s trigger happy.  And the name…why oh why?  lol We laughed and giggled for quite a bit about these.  There was also a dolphin and another animal as well.  Then we were off again and aside from some terribly claustrophobic construction outside of Dallas the rest of our trip there was uneventful.  We did get a bit delirious toward the end. Then I remembered I had Pitch Perfect on my iPad so Eden watched and I listened and acted out the scenes while driving.  We are obsessed with that movie!  🙂

Monday came all to quickly and it was time for me to head back to Amarillo.  For 6.5 hours this was my view.

2013-05-06 16.47.16Snoozeville.  It was very hard to stay awake and I was bored out of my mind.

2013-05-06 14.25.40I came up with creative ways to stretch without stopping.  And yeah I unbuttoned my jeans…so what?!

2013-05-06 15.02.31And Lexxie Couper and I swapped selfies and raced each other to our homes-I won!  Woohoo!! 🙂  There were cops everywhere so I kept it cruising at the speed limit until I made it to Amarillo.  You may or may not know that Amarillo is incredibly dry.  It almost never ever rains and if it does it is for about 5 minutes and that’s it.  And that only happens about 3 or 4 times a year.  So I knew just how much Amarillo missed me when the skies opened up and cried upon my arrival to town.

I hope you enjoyed my RT wrap-up.  I had fun reliving all the memories and I can’t wait for next year.  It’s in New Orleans so I’m pretty sure it is going to be nuts.

CONTEST TIME: For the final question I just wanna know…do you plan on coming to RT next year?  Click the link below to make sure you enter to win.  I’m going to pick multiple winners to win a box full of books and swag from RT!  Winners will be posted Monday after the EDJ is done!

Make sure to check out each day to increse your chances to win.  Here are links to the rest of the posts:

RT Travel and Contest | RT Contest Continues | RT Contest: Thursday | RT Contest: Friday | RT Contest: Saturday

  a Rafflecopter giveaway
This contest is for followers located in the US only.  Sorry it’s expensive to mail them out of the country.

KittyKelly

Categories: Uncategorized

Post navigation

37 thoughts on “RT Contest: Going Home :(

  1. Beverly Gordon

    I plan on coming but I dont know if i can afford to go may have to wait till i save and go the following year fingers crossed

  2. Phuong

    Yes, I’m planning on going to RT next year. I’m told I need to because it’s New Orleans. LOL!

  3. Ever since I found out about RT I’ve been wanting to go myself/ My husband keeps telling me that “maybe next year you’ll finally be able to get the time off a work”! I think I should get a new boss and maybe then he’ll finally give me the time off! My fingers are crossed that next year will finally be that time!

  4. Do I plan on going? Of coarse I do! But will I actually end up going…
    Well the realist in me says probably not, think of the money. The gas prices and a place to stay. But the optimistic side says think positive! I’m pretty sure you’ll go (:
    Anyways I hope I do. It looks like hella fun

  5. chrisbails

    Not sure New Orleans is pretty far. Would love to.

  6. Sad to say I wont be able to make it next year.

  7. suzlyne

    I would love to go but it’s the weekend before schools out and I don’t know that I can get off work. I’ll be working with a new teacher so…

  8. Lori meehan

    I’m not sure. Im going to RAGT this coming weekend. This is my first con and I’m very excited.

    • Mary McCoy

      I am going too, you will have a blast!

  9. If I’ve published another book there is a possibility. 🙂

    Harlie
    harliewilliams25@gmail.com

  10. DebraG

    I could only go if it is close and since it is not. Bummer!!

  11. vampedchik

    Definitely! I’m already saving up!

  12. Lisa G

    I would love to go to RT, but I am unable to due to my kids & money. I will be following everyone’s tweets & FB posts.

    I follow by email

  13. RT would be a dream for an avid reader like myself,will I be able to attend next year,probably not as I live too far away and money wise it’s not feasible,it would be wonderful to go back to my native Louisiana and attend the conference…….

  14. Jane

    I would love to go to RT. I’ve always wanted to visit New Orleans, but don’t think it’ll happen next year. I’m an email subscriber.

  15. I wish I could but I have to finish paying off the bills first and then my whole family needs a vacation. Next summer no alone vacation for me!

  16. I’m hoping to go to RT next year, but it depends on a lot of factors. First of all, I’d love to go to Glasgow for the Commonwealth Games because I was living there when the city announced they won the bid and it was an awesome experience to celebrate with the locals. Of all trips for next year, that’s the ONE I want to go. If it all fails then RT it is, but BEA also calls my name.

  17. Yes, I do plan on going because it’s only an hour away from me…YAY!!!. All I have to do is take I10 South and I’m there. I can’t wait. Fingers are crossed that nothing happens to stop me from going…LOL
    Michelle Bledsoe
    P.S.
    Thank you for taking us along with you.

  18. id love to!! but im not sure. things here are pretty tight. dont know until next year. i hope so! ive been dying to go to one of those! 🙂 thank you for sharing with us! 🙂

  19. Mary McCoy

    I would love to go but I will have to see if I win the lottery:)

    I follow on email

  20. Brandi S.

    I would love to go but alas….no money 😥 Thanks for sharing your memories with us!!

  21. Larena Hubble

    I would love to go but I don’t think it will happen but I hope to someday.

  22. james310

    Not going to RT next year. Shared on facebook and I’m following you.

  23. I would LOVE to go next year. Will I get there ? Fingers crossed I will. And being in New Or.leans makes all the more interesting. Thanks for sharing your memories with us all.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

  24. I plan on going. I have always wanted to go to both New Orleans and RT so I can kill two birds with one stone, so to speak.

  25. I want to go but don’t know yet if I will be able to afford it.

  26. It would be nice to go, because it’s in New Orleans, but not very likely.
    ~Michelle

  27. Oh my goodness … that was the funniest road trip wrap up I’ve ever read. I fell sorry for you and can relate to your boredom during your long driving because my friend and I drive 17.5 hours straight home for AADNOLA to Maryland. It was not fun and I do not recommend it. I myself have never been to RT. In fact AADNOLA was my first ever Author Convention and it was awesome for an avid reader like myself. I might sound shelter but I never knew events like these took place. It was be nice to experience other book conventions just for memories alone and lets not forget swag is always a plus.

  28. I would LOVE to go! I may trick the hubby in to a vacation & not tell him the real reason for it!!!

  29. Sheila F

    I would love to go but money wont let me go for awhile.:( Thank you for the stories you shared for the ones that didn’t get to go.

  30. I don’t think I can swing it financially but I would love to. I’ll try.

  31. jennifer mathis

    new orleans god i hope so

  32. Rhonda Wolf

    I won’t be able to go.

  33. If I can afford to go, I do!

  34. Maria D.

    It will depend on my work schedule and finances ….so probably not…lol

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

