Guest Author and Contest: Jennifer Zane

zane_tour_ad

Touring the Old West

 

I love reading western historical romances. I love the Old West. I imagine it to be rough and romantic with so many attractive cowboys to choose from. All of the men rugged, strong, possessive.

 

With that sentence alone, it’s obvious I write romance! But that wasn’t how it was like. At all.

 

Anyone seen the show Deadwood on HBO? That depicted the South Dakota gold rush in its heyday…realistically. Gritty, dark and cutthroat. Women were depicted in a more realistic light. The hardships of death, childbirth, cruel husbands, miserable conditions, sickness were not glossed over. They definitely didn’t have it easy.

 

In the Museum of the Rockies in Bozeman, there’s a photo of a woman standing outside doing her wash. She wore a long-sleeved dark dress that hung to the ground. Her hair was up in a high bun. She stood in front of a steaming kettle. There were no trees, just prairie. Her expression, I remember vividly. She looked…miserable. I imagined her husband, her children that were nearby, but out of the photo.

 

I lived in Montana for five years and traces of the past are still visible. The Oregon Trail, with the wagon wheel ruts, are still there to see today. Virginia City is an Old West town that looks the same now as it did back in the 1800’s. Ghost towns abound. To me, it’s like touching the past, to imagine who stood in the same spot as me, what they wore, what hardships they battled, their joys. I imagine them thinking almost 150 years into the future and imagining what the world would be like. Did the woman with the wash wonder if life would be easier in the future? Would they have thought of me, a woman who wears pants, with a job, head-strong and independent, driving a moving vehicle that didn’t require a horse?

 

Then I think forward 150 years. What will the woman, who stands in the same spot as me in 1163 be like? What will she wear? What will her dreams be? What will she be driving?

 

I’d love to hear your thoughts on ways you’ve been able to touch the past, to see and feel and appreciate how easy we have it with our washing machines, dryers and fabric softener!

 

CONTEST: Please comment and a winner will be randomly selected to receive an ebook of The Lady And The Lawman or another Jennifer Zane book.

lady_lawman_200x300Buy it from Amazon

 

Categories: Uncategorized

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Guest Author and Contest: Jennifer Zane

  1. DebraG

    I love the old west myself. One of my favorite vacations involved a trip to some old Western towns.

  2. Lori meehan

    I love western romances.
    Into the future…I hope things are easier for people and that they learn from the past. To take more time with loved ones. Let children be children. You are only kids once let them enjoy themselves.
    Oh yeah and peace on earth. Lol

  3. Jennifer Zane

    Thanks for having me Ms. Smutty Kitty! Glad to be sharing this new release with all of you!

  4. vampedchik

    I loved Deadwood! This sounds very interesting! I will definitely check it out! 🙂

  5. Lisa G

    I touched the past most by talking with my maternal grandmother. I learned about her life as a child in the early 1900’s & the stories she was told by her mother of life in Europe in the late 1800’s.

  6. denise smith

    i love the old west romances myself 1700,1800 this sounds really good

  7. Angela Love

    I would Love to win I found out about Jennifer Zane over at Angel Payne’s Launch Party so I would LOVE to win a book of her to read and get to know!!!! So thank you for the giveaway and the chance to enter!!!!

  8. Rana Adams

    Wow!! Thank you so much for sharing!! This book looks AWESOME and I will definitely check it out!!

  9. Meghan Stith

    Yes! Totally can’t wait to read this! Adding it to my TBR list… Love that cover, too ; ) I always wonder how much power they have over the direction of the design of their book cover. My brother just got into designing book covers and would like to know what he should expect! Thanks for sharing with us and Thanks for the giveaway!
    mestith at gmail dot com

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

