Review: Against The Ropes

againstheropes_new-200x300Against The Ropes by Sarah Castille

4 out of 5 Licks

He scared me. He thrilled me. And after one touch, all I could think about was getting more…

Makayla never thought she’d set foot in an underground mixed-martial arts club. But if anyone needs a medic on hand, it’s these guys. Trouble is, at  her first sight of the club’s owner she’s the one feeling breathless.

All sleek muscle and restrained power, the man they call Torment plays to  win at any cost. Whether it’s in the ring or in the bedroom, he knows  exactly when to use a soft touch and when to launch a full-on assault.  He always knows just how far he can push. And he’s about to tempt  Makayla in ways she never imagined…

I want to start by saying, if you have not picked up this book or Ms. Castille’s other book, I would highly recommend doing so.  It is hard to put in words the things I enjoy about her style of writing to do it justice, but it draws me in and keeps me immersed with the characters.

Okay, now I know this has been done before with the Billionaire hiding his wealth, but in this case I like that he is running an underground MMA fight club.  Torment or Max (his real name) is a sexy, strong (physically), billionaire who meets Makayla in his club when she goes to help a friend work the door.  It is a little cliche that of course Makayla is struggling financially; when she meets Torment (secret billionaire).  Makayla like a lot of people does not know what she wants to do for a living, even though she was pre-med, so she is working a low paying job and now the loan company is trying to collect on her student loans.  Makayla takes up Torment’s offer to work as Med Tech during fights to put off the loan company.  They become closer and closer working together.  Torment/Max and Makayla have some BIG past family issues that keep getting in their way of a happily ever after; Torment/Max is very possessive/protective and Makayla is afraid of that type of man. I could go on and on about Max’s and Makayla’s past, but read it for yourself!  The last part of the book is very dramatic.  Oh, and I cannot leave out the sexiness, let’s just say Torment/Max is in his dominance in the bedroom, Whoa Momma!

I have to tell you that the whole back story of the underground MMA was interesting for me to read because I have not read another book with this as the backdrop.  And for me this really weaves all the story and characters together.

The secondary characters in this story were great…Doctor Drake, cracked me up with his whole seeming over the top on his quest to get Makayla.  Amanda is Makayla’s best friend, who screws up with Jake by getting caught playing naughty sexual games with Doctor Drake, but I do hope Jake and Amanda get a story, I think there is still a lot that can happen between these two.  Sergio, who is the loan officer who is harassing Makayla really makes me angry at the beginning of the book, but come to sympathize with him at the end.

As a whole a great story! and hope to see more from these characters.

Buy it from Amazon | Kobo | Book Depository | Books-A-Million

PussyWillow

 

Categories: Uncategorized

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Review: Against The Ropes

  1. Added to the wish list! Loved your review PussyWillow. Thanks for sharing!

    In reviewerism, (wonder if that’s kind of like voyeurism?)
    Zen Kitty

  2. Pingback: Book Tour Schedule: Gabby Revealed (Finding Perfect #2) by Amy Gregory ~ March 24 - 30, 2014 (Contemporary Romance) | Literati Author Services, Inc.Literati Author Services, Inc.

Blog at WordPress.com.

