Reviews and Beta Reads by Jess Dee

BT

A few days ago, when Rhythm Of My Heart released, The Smutty Kitty posted her review of the book on the net, and it was a stunning review. I think the reason I liked it so much was because she’d pretty much written about her gut response to the book. I liked it too because she took it almost word for word from the feedback she’d given me after beta reading the story back in March.

 

Kitty wrote, and I quote:

“I love this book and I love you for having these words in your head, putting them on paper (or a word doc), and for giving me the chance to read them before the rest of the world could have them.” 

 

But here’s the thing. I laughed when I read this, because she was essentially thanking me for writing the book, when in fact I was the one who was eternally grateful that she read it – before the rest of the world.

 

As a writer, a book critique prior to submitting it to an editor is vital. Once that story is done, it’s incredibly difficult to step back from it, look at it objectively and see the flaws. (And let me tell you…there are always flaws in my books!)

 

Which is why my beta readers have become invaluable to me. I have three readers (Kitty, Dawn and Fe), all lovers of erotic romance, whom I send my books to when I finally type those two little words: The End. They get to do what I cannot – spot the flaws. They read the books with a critical eye, finding areas of weakness, areas that need improvement and yes, even areas that have to be deleted and totally rewritten. Fortunately for me, they also point out the parts of the books that work or don’t need to be deleted.

 

I’m always totally amazed that these three wonderful woman find the time to beta read my books. Because I’m usually on deadline and I’m a slow writer, by the time my books are done, there are only a few days to get them to my editor. Which means my beta readers have to scramble to get the stories read before I submit them. And they do it. Every time!

 

Since Kitty shared her feedback, I figure it’s only fair to share the email I sent on the 12th of March, when I’d completed Rhythm Of the Night and needed urgent feedback:

 

Hello my lovelies.

 

I’m in desperate need of your help.

 

I’ve just finished Rhythm Of My Heart, Book 3 in the Speed series, and I need your eyes and advice.

 

However…I need it quickly. The book must be in by the 20th of March, and after you’ve read it, I’m going to need time to make all the appropriate changes.

 

Think you have the time to get it read in the next few days?

 

If you do, I will be forever in your debt. (Hell, I must be forever in your debt several times over already.)

If you can’t, I understand. None of us have time to beta read a 50 000 word book at the drop of a hat.

 

Let me know, either way.

 

Hugs,

 

Jess

 

 

You know what? I had feedback from all three within a few days – which left me time to make all the appropriate changes. These three women help make my books better. So to beta readers everywhere, and especially to Kitty, Dawn and Fe, I say a very big thank you!

 

 

Jess

Rhythm of My Heart
Speed Book 3
Now Available
He rocks every woman’s world, but his heart beats only for her.
Speed, Book 3
Makeup artist Eve Andrews is an expert at blending into the background. Landing a job with the rock band Speed is the opportunity of a lifetime, and thankfully as close to the spotlight as she’ll ever get again—until the band’s sinfully sexy drummer turns his dazzling eyes on her.
After a scandal shook his world, Zachary Pace, a.k.a. “Jonah Speed”, has given up the one-night stands and easy lays. One look at Eve, and he senses his self-imposed abstinence is about to come to a screeching halt—but he’s confused. His grandmother foretold his destiny lies with a beautiful redhead, not a tiny, brown-haired pixie.
Under the heat of Zachary’s intense focus, Eve’s resistance melts away, but not the façade that hides her terrible secret. And when she accidentally catches a glimpse of his heart’s desire—his fated redhead—her instincts tell her to let him go…before he gets too close. Before he sees the real woman behind her mask, and her heart is left in the dust of his almost-certain retreat.
Warning: This is a Speed book, so you know there’s gonna be a small element of fantasy to it. And a big element of romance. Oh, yeah, and whole lot of sex. Sex hot enough to make you throb to the rhythm of a very sensual beat…

Rhythm of My Heart is available now
from
Samhain, Kindle, Nook, Kobo or your favorite ebookstore

Jess is giving away a 7″ Kindle Fire at the end of the tour. Comment and fill out the rafflecopter to enter! Be sure to follow the tour for additional chances to enter. Schedule below the rafflecopter.
Schedule:
10/15
10/16
10/17
10/18
10/19
10/20

 

Categories: Uncategorized

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “Reviews and Beta Reads by Jess Dee

  1. Lori meehan

    What a lovely thank you to your betas.

  2. What a great way to recognize your betas! I never realized the amount of work that went into authoring a book until I had the pleasure to beta read for an indie author. It truly is something. Thanks for an amazing job!
    Mel

  3. Lisa G

    Thank you to the authors & the betas for doing such a wonderful job of bringing these amazing stories to life.

  4. Jamie L

    That was a great blog to the beta readers. I have to say though, that I think all books tend to have flaws and that usually can make the book even better. Sometimes something that is thought of as a flaw is actually something great in disguise. 😀

  5. Awh … that was so sweet and heartfelt! Jess is a doll … I ♥ her to death! And I can’t wait to dive into this series!

  6. What a amazing giveaway! Beta readers rock!

  7. elaing8

    Great post to your beta readers. I am looking forward to reading this. Thanks for the awesome giveaway.

  8. My only regret is that it took me years to realize how essential beta readers are to the writing process.
    I love them dearly.

  9. Tabatha S

    Aww what a sweet thank you to your beta readers!

  10. lisagk

    Such lucky ladies. and lucky for us readers too. Thanks for the post.

  11. Phuong

    Beta reading is hard and they do a fantastic job! Thanks to the authors for writing their stories and to the beta readers for helping to make them even better 🙂

  12. I’ve beta read for several people, and I’m currently reading for another author. But it’s a give and a take, the author gets good feedback, and a beta gets to see it first and in a way, bragging rights. 🙂

  13. Beta reading is hard, especially when there are bits of the book the beta doesn’t like.
    It takes a special person to be able to say…”That part isn’t working.”

    And although I love the thought that beta reading is mutually beneficial for both author and reader, I still think I’m the lucky one in the deal.
    🙂

  14. I am glad that you have giving the betas a mention in this interview because he all need to here that we are doing some good

Blog at WordPress.com.

